Noob Question(s)

edited October 2011 in General discussions
This is my first post here, so I might as well ask these questions here. Firstly, I have the 2010 Professional Version of MS Visual Studios on my laptop, hence I was wondering, looking at all the available downloads, which one(s) I would need. I'll have to get my hands on the Android SDK and NDK, but, as far as ORX is concerned, which specific downloads will I need? And other than these three or so items, will I need to get my hands on anything else? Also, as a fan of old school 2D scroll games, such as the MegaMan Series and Super Mario Brothers, I'd live to create something similar, based off of some ideas of mine. As far as I've seen, I could do this with ORX...is this the case? Thanks in advance and I appreciate the help, as I am new to this.

See ya on the flipside,

Desh2350

Comments

• edited October 2011
    Hi Desh2350 and welcome here!

As far as orx is concerned, you need the dev package adapted to your platform. So if you want to develop for Android you'll need the Android package, same for visual 2010.
    However there's a small problem in that case: as I don't have visual 2010 myself I coulnd't release a package for it. However the project files have been maintained by Grey on the SVN so I encourage you to sync orx from the latest SVN version on sourceforge.
    Even if you wanted to work with another development environment I would still advise you to use the latest version from the SVN as a lot of fixes and improvements have been added since the latest release (especially for iPhone and Android).

When you sync orx (sync the trunk folder so as to not get all the branches that will be useless for you), it'll compile out of the box, all the dependencies will already be there and precompiled. You simply need to open the project file in the folder /code/build/msvs2010 and select one of the embedded dynamic config (release, profile or debug).