Stellar Planes (dev thread)

edited July 2011 in Projects - Tools
Whelp, this'll be the dev thread for my project in orx.

I'm looking to build a 2D rts game with a gameplay that's inspired by the flash game flashtrek and it's descendants. Long ago I've been meddling it's code with the same intention as I have now, but experience has taught me that I’ll be better off writing a new game from scratch in a new language (Which I’m still learning) than trying to sort out the mess another programmer made in a language which wasn't designed for that purpose in the first place. The extent of this game has long outgrown the interactive animation stage, and I only plan to add to that complexity.

Currently I have cannibalized the code from Grey's Tutorial 2 to provide a first working bare executable, and I'm slapping key imputs in my .ini.

I'm a bit confused about the Combinelist entry. What, and how does it do stuff?

For an example, I'm intending to have a selection behaviour. Lmouse = select, Lshift should be a modifier which allows me to select multiple things.

Comments

• edited July 2011
    First of all, looking forward to seeing Stellar Planes evolve, it sounds a promising project. :)

As for the CombineList, it defines which inputs are actually using all of the physical inputs of its list to get triggered. If an input isn't there, any of the physical input of the list will trigger it. As this is definitely not a clear explanation (morning, no caffein and all that), here's a small example:
    [Input]
    Combined = KEY_LCTRL # KEY_C
    Regular = KEY_R # KEY_RCTRL
    CombineList = Combined

Here Combined will be activated only if both KEL_LCTRL *and* KEY_C are pressed whereas Regular will be activated is any of KEY_R *or* KEL_RCTRL are pressed.
    That's a bit limitating as you can't define two 2-key combos for the same input name for example, it's either 'or' or 'and' for all the elements of a list (up to 4 actually).