raw beginner here having trouble with android

edited October 2015 in Help request
Hi, I really like your engine because I use C++, and I have been successful in running the demos on Windows, but not on Android.

I followed the tutorials on android and was able to build the library and the demos, but the resulting .apk, when installed, did not work on my Android tablet (it immediately said the app had to close, try again).

The tablet is a Coby Kyros mid-7022 and has Android 2.3 on it. I noticed that the default lowest target on the library and the demos app is Android 2.3.3, so it would seem like the tablet is too low a target. Therefore I tried turning down the lowest target to 2.2(Froyo) in the Project Structure, but the .apk still didn't work.

I haven't tried the orx 1.5 version for android yet, should I try that? Or is the tablet just too old for orx in general?

Comments

• edited October 2015
    Hi bjorn54 and welcome here!

I'm afraid I'm not the best qualified for the Android version and its requirements, however I'm sure Lydesik should have the answer you're looking for.

If you don't have an answer by tomorrow (or if you have other questions or even if you would simply like to chat with us), you can also ping us on http://gitter.im/orx/orx
  • edited October 2015
    Hi bjorn54,

Welcome! Yes it looks like 2.3 might be just a tad too old. You could try orx 1.5 but I think you would benefit from orx 1.6+ for development.

But there is a way for you to see where it might be failing on the tablet just to confirm. I use an app called catlog (http://m.fajrnetmarket.store.aptoide.com/app/market/com.nolanlawson.logcat/42/10357963/CatLog). (Check that this app is still trusted!)

Run catlog, clear the logs, and press the start button. Start the orx demo apk and let it fail. Go back to catlog and pause the logging.

Scroll through the log looking for the offending message that might help.