Learning - snags / hangups

Hi all. I'm a newbie learning the ropes of orx and am in the process of compiling where I've hit bumps and snags and such. Hopefully this helps improve the tutorials for other learners, though a good lot of this may well be due to my own ignorance.

Before I begin, thank you everyone who has contributed to the wiki and tutorials. It really does help. It's looking much more approachable than it did a few years ago when I first tried using orx.

I'll update this periodically as I come upon new challenges. Here's what I have so far.
  1. My biggest initial hangup every time I've started was what options there were for project setup - it's super flexible but tutorials led me to beleive I should do it a certain way that I didn't like. This is more particular to me since I'm picky about having a good template project setup. I think I've figured out a setup that I like, but seeing a list of possible suggestions to illustrate this flexibility would be helpful to newcomers.
  2. none[strike]Another hangup was the fact that the config file is next to the executable - it would be nice to note that this can be changed in code.[/strike]
  3. The next challenge was understanding how camera and viewports interact. [strike]Seeing a lot of sample config files use display resolution for frustum dimensions led me, someone who had forgotten the nuances involved in selecting frustum size, to think that this was the norm and should be conformed to.[/strike] Having some more pictures in the viewport/camera tutorial that illustrate how the camera behaves in relation to objects would be helpful. Explaining what kinds of things to take into consideration would be good. Explaining what worldspace looks like in the context of orx would also help. Having a solid reference for the user to anchor their mind to is essential for this.